I’m “home” safe and sound

Yay, I’m finally in Russia! I got (to my new) “home” yesterday evening after about 11 hours’ travelling. I got to travel in style though: as Wim’s company had only booked my flight the day before, there was no more space in economy and I got to travel in business class!

Everything went very smoothly. I didn’t have any problems with my long-awaited visa (which was quite a scary moment after Wim’s experience!). That is, I didn’t have any issues entering the country. Leaving Russia will be another story, as – believe it or not – when I went to pick up my visa on Tuesday, the lady behind the counter noticed an error on it!

I got a multiple entry visa, which means I can enter and leave Russia as many times as I want. However, for some reason they also put on there that I should return within 90 days… They recognised it as a mistake but as there was no more time to correct it (I was leaving the next day), I’ll have to go back to the visa centre next time I’m in Belgium. Which should be – “just to make sure”, the lady behind the counter added – within three months. Well, there are worse things. I was just happy I was finally able to come to Russia at all!

I got a very warm welcome when I arrived. A bunch of Wim’s colleagues had gathered at our house and had thrown a party with a barbecue and many, many drinks (including vodka, of course!). 🙂 The perfect occasion to learn how to toast in Russian: За здоровье (“za zdaróvye”).

Cheers!

2 thoughts on “I’m “home” safe and sound”

  1. Amai, nog een feestje na zo’n lange reis! Had je daar nog fut voor of hebben de vodka’s wat geholpen? 😉
    Hehe, leuk dat je sowieso binnen 3 maanden nog eens in het land bent! Minder leuk dat je dan weer allerlei administratie hebt of valt dat nog mee?
    Als je geïnstalleerd bent, trek dan eens wat fotootjes. Ik ben heel benieuwd 🙂
    Groetjes!
    Kaat

    Like

  2. Bwa zo’n vermoeiende reis was het ook niet; op een schappelijk uur kunnen vertrekken en op een schappelijk uur aangekomen. 🙂 Vond het wel fijn en attent dat ze iets georganiseerd hadden!
    Veel administratie zal dat niet zijn om mijn visum te laten veranderen. Ik moet het enkel gaan afgeven op de visumbalie in Brussel en ‘s anderendaags dan nog eens teruggaan om het op te halen (zo hebben ze me toch verteld). Een beetje vervelend, maar ik ben al lang blij dat ik een visum heb, en ook dat ze hun eigen fout erkennen.
    Waar wil je fotootjes van zien? 🙂 Enerzijds weet ik niet waar ik moet beginnen om foto’s te trekken en anderzijds heb ik (behalve de kerken dan misschien) eigenlijk nog niet zoveel echt eigenaardigs of fotowaardigs gezien. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

